You are here

Court Info

On March 31, 1917, the United States purchased the then Danish West Indies from Denmark for $25 million in gold.  The group of islands, whose major islands include St. Croix, St. John, and St. Thomas, thereafter became known as the Virgin Islands of the United States.

The "district court" evolved through many different forms from 1917 to 1936.  In 1936, Congress passed the Organic Act of 1936, which was signed into law by President Franklin D. Roosevelt on June 22, 1936.  It was this Act that created the District Court of the Virgin Islands.
The District Court of the Virgin Islands is a member of the Third Circuit.  It has two divisional offices:
1.  Division of St. Thomas/St. John is located at:
     5500 Veteran's Drive
     Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas 00802-6424
     340-774-0640 phone 
     340-775-8075 fax

     Hours: 8:00AM - 5:00PM Monday - Friday
2.  Division of St. Croix is located at:
     3013 Estate Golden Rock, 
     Christiansted, St. Croix 00820-4355
     340-718-1130  phone
     340-718-1563  fax

     Hours: 8:00AM - 5:00PM Monday - Friday

There are four (4) judicial officers assigned to this district, two district court judges and two magistrate judges.  One judge and a magistrate judge sit in each division.
The District Court of the Virgin Islands has a Bankruptcy Division located in the St. Thomas/St. John divisional office, which handles bankruptcy cases for both divisions.  Telephone 340-774-8310.